School Board Appreciation

Community Decorative background with DDSD green stripes, the DDSD logo and headshots of each school board member

January is School Board Appreciation Month, and David Douglas has much to appreciate. The seven elected volunteers who make up our School Board have led as our District has navigated an extraordinarily difficult 2-year span for public education.

Through COVID-19 shut downs, implementing a year of Comprehensive Distance Learning, enforcing COVID-19 safety measures, reopening to in-person instruction this year, and watching an Omicron resurgence, our School Board has led with care for families, students and staff, while centering equity in their decision-making.

As they say in those old TV ads, ‘but wait, there’s more!’ To appreciate this School Board, we want to try to summarize what it has accomplished.

While juggling a traumatic pandemic, this Board nevertheless took historic steps forward for the District’s future, completing four separate and ambitious initiatives. They led the community efforts to develop and adopt a districtwide Equity Plan, a new 6-year Strategic Plan, and a new Long Range Facility Plan to identify our infrastructure needs for the coming decades. 

And then the Board led a community effort to take the highest priorities of the Long Range Facility Plan and turn them into a proposed construction bond measure. The Board will decide in the coming weeks whether to place that bond measure on the May 17, 2022 election ballot.

Successfully completing any one of these initiatives during the throes of a disruptive pandemic would be a great success. Completing all four is a remarkable achievement by our staff, our families, our students and our community. And your School Board led from the jump.

Please join us in thanking and celebrating the members of our School Board

  • Board Chair Stephanie Stephens, 5th year of service.
  • Board Vice Chair Donna Barber, 4th year of service.
  • Aaron Barrow, 3rd year of service.
  • Frieda Christopher, 31st year of service.
  • Hoa Nguyen, 1st year of service.
  • Gabriela Saldana-Lopez, 1st year of service.
  • Andrea Valderrama, 6th year of service.